Posted in Dinner

Irish Stew

St. Patrick’s Day! The day where we celebrate green, Guinness, shamrocks, leprechauns, drinking, potatoes, and adorable accents. I can’t help but think we (non Irish folk) celebrate it in quite an uneducated way.
What some people don’t realize is that it is not a holiday for drinking as much as it is a feast day celebrating the arrival of Christianity to Ireland.
So *diddly-dee potatoes* I decided I would cook an Irish Stew in celebration of St. Paddy’s Day! This is a simple recipe to throw together, and when you are ready to cook it just needs to sit in the oven for two and a half hours. Prep-time, about 10 minutes; cooking time… Ages!

What you need:
– 600g lamb chops, fat trimmed
– 4 medium potatoes
– 2 large onions
– Salt, pepper
– 1 and 1/2cup water
– Chopped parsley
– 3 medium carrots
– 1tsp cummin powder
– 1tsp ground coriander
– 1tbs honey
– 2tsp olive oil

What you do:
– Peel the potatoes, cutting one half into large even pieces.
– Line the bottom of a large oven proof dish with the potato pieces.
– Layer half the peeled, and thickly sliced onions on top.
– Arrange a layer if meat evenly on top of that.
20130321-172209.jpg
– Sprinkle with salt and pepper.
– Evenly layer the remaining onion.
– Slice the remaining potato evenly, and layer on top of the onion.
– Add the water.
– Sprinkle with more salt and pepper.
– Cover with tin foil, place the lid on top, and bake in a 160degree Celsius oven for 2.5hours.
– With 45 minutes of baking time remaining, cut your carrots into quarters.
– Combine remaining ingredients in a bowl.
– Cover each carrot chunk in the honey mixture and place on a small baking tray.
– Pour any remaining mixture on top of the carrots, and place in the oven.
– Make sure you turn the carrots occasionally. These should finish at the same as the stew.

Oh Lordy, the meat of so very tender!!! Simple, and delicious!!

20130321-175014.jpg

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

Author:

I thoroughly enjoy cooking. And better yet I have a partner who thoroughly enjoys me cooking so it keeps me going. However, I am impatient and lazy, and therefore have many a cooking conundrum... my blog is about the problems I face while cooking and either how I overcome them... or how I cover them up!

One thought on “Irish Stew

Let me know what you think!