Posted in Cooking, Dinner, Seafood

Curried Scallops

Everyone loves a meal that is quick and easy. That is EXACTLY what this recipe is!! It takes 10 minutes to make, and only has a handful of ingredients, most of which you will already have in your pantry! Well… At least they were in my pantry… I think I have a normal pantry!

Note: An important note about seafood. Fresh is best duh! If it smells like the sea, it is fresh, if it smells like ammonia, throw it out immediately. Frozen seafood is acceptable because they are often frozen very quickly after being caught.

What you need:
– 500g fresh scallops, no shells, with it without roe (personal preference, I like them)
– 1-2tbs curry powder
– 2tsp turmeric
– 1tbs canola oil
– 1/2tin coconut cream (not milk, there IS a difference!)
– sea salt to taste

What you do:
This is so stupidly simple it seems wrong!
– Heat oil over a medium heat
– Add the curry powder and allow to heat till fragrant
– Add scallops and coconut milk
– Allow to simmer for 5 minutes, stirring occasionally
– Add salt to taste
– Serve with a light salad and ciabatta bread to sop up the lovely juices!

20130312-135126.jpg

I would suggest mixing some cornflour and water together and adding this to the curry to make a thicker sauce if you so desire!

Author:

I thoroughly enjoy cooking. And better yet I have a partner who thoroughly enjoys me cooking so it keeps me going. However, I am impatient and lazy, and therefore have many a cooking conundrum... my blog is about the problems I face while cooking and either how I overcome them... or how I cover them up!

Let me know what you think!