Posted in Cakes and CupCakes, Chocolate, Cooking, Dessert

Chocolate Chambord Cupcakes

I like to watch shows about murderers… That’s a slightly ominous beginning, but hear me out. I like to watch their relationships with those around them. The way that act with strangers, and more interestingly, the way they act/behave with their parents. Unconditional love is such an interesting concept to me, and watching parents act with love despite their children’s heinous crimes strikes me as very poignant.

My story is nothing like that, but… I got a puppy… I can understand unconditional love. No matter what he does wrong (digging, peeing inside, nipping) I can’t help but show him love and want to teach him. He is learning very quickly! He is currently learning not to beg for people food, even people food as fantastic as these delicious cupcakes.

These cupcakes were baked very purposely to use up what I had left of a bottle of Chambord.

Cooking time: 20 minutes
Prep time: 10 minutes active, 2hrs20min waiting
Yield: 24
What you need:
Cupcake:
in1 and 3/4 cup plain flour
– 2 cups sugar
– 3/4 cups cocoa powder
– 2tsp baking soda
– 1tsp baking powder
– 1tsp salt
– 1 cup buttermilk
– 1/2 cup vegetable oil
– 2 large eggs, room temperature
– 2tsp vanilla essence
– 1 cup fresh hot black coffee, minus 2tbs
– 2tbs Chambord

Ganache
– 500g dark chocolate, chopped
– 1 and 1/2 cups heavy cream
– 4tbs Chambord
– 24 fresh cherries (can use glazed if so desired)

What you do:
Cupcakes
– Line two standard cupcake tins with cupcake liners. (I use the reusable silicone ones, they are fantastic! But I would suggest paper ones if you are baking these for others, just so you don’t lose them!)
– Sift together the flour, sugar, cocoa, baking soda, baking powder and salt. Mix on low speed until well combined.
– In a separate bowl, whisk together the buttermilk, oil, eggs, and vanilla.
– With the mixer on a low speed, slowly add the buttermilk mixture to the flour mixture.
– With the mixture still on low, incorporate the coffee and Chambord until combined. (The mixture will look super wet, that’s okay, just what it needs to look like!)
– Heat the oven to 180 degrees Celsius.
– Divide the mixture into the cupcake liners. Only fill to 3/4 full. Any more and you will have overflow. (I was actually able to make an additional 3 giant cupcakes with this mix, but that was because my cupcake liners are a little smaller than my cupcake tin.)
– Bake for 18 to 22 minutes. (There are a variety of ways to tell if your cupcakes are done. As soon as you can smell their beautiful aroma, they bounce back when touched, a skewer comes out clean when pricked through the thickest part of the cake).

Ganache
– Place the chocolate pieces in a large heatproof bowl.
– Heat the cream in a medium saucepan over a medium heat until it just begins to boil. (Keep a hawk eye on it, it happens suddenly and can get very messy if you don’t catch it).
– Immediately pour the hot cream over the chocolate pieces. Set aside for five minutes.
– Whisk the cream and chocolate together until smooth. Starting at the center and working your way out. Allow to set for 2 hours. (You can do it in a fridge, but be careful it doesn’t set too hard. Also, setting time depends on temperature and humidity of the day).
– Stir in the Chambord.
– Pipe ganache onto cupcakes, and garnish with a fresh cherry.

Chocolate Chambord Cupcakes

These babies are rich, delicious, and so moist and decadent! Try them and let me know how you go in the comments below! These babies were delivered to my neighbour as a thank you!

Author:

I thoroughly enjoy cooking. And better yet I have a partner who thoroughly enjoys me cooking so it keeps me going. However, I am impatient and lazy, and therefore have many a cooking conundrum... my blog is about the problems I face while cooking and either how I overcome them... or how I cover them up!

Let me know what you think!