Posted in Cooking

Twice Cooked Sriracha Chicken Wings

There seems to be some link between major sporting events, and eating chicken wings. Whether it is NBA All Star Weekend, Super Bowl, the Boxing Day test match, or the AFL grand finals, there seems to be a need for chicken wings.

For one such recent sporting event, I was requested (by Le Hubby) to feed the masses (began as a group of about 10 boys, ended up being 3 – didn’t find out about the change in numbers until I had finished cooking, so had enough to feed 10), so I made these delicious chicken wings!!

Despite the change in numbers… 3 boys managed to devour 3kg (I made a double batch) of chicken wings!

Cooking Time: 35 minutes

Prep Time: 25 minutes – 2 hours chill time

Yield: snacks for 10 (or 3…)

What you need:

  • 1.5kg chicken wings, cut in half at the joint and wing tips removed
  • 1 teaspoon white sesame seeds
  • 1 spring onion, roughly chopped

Marinade:

  • 2 teaspoons minced garlic
  • 1 tablespoon minced ginger
  • 1/4 cup light soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil

Sriracha Sauce:

  • 1/3 cup sriracha sauce (available from Asian grocers, some western grocery stores are also beginning to stock this)
  • 2 tablespoons hoisin sauce
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 1 teaspoon white vinegar

What you do:

  1. Prepare your chicken. The easiest way to cut the wing at the joint is to grab each end of the wing, and hyperextend the join until it dislocates. Now you can easily see where you need to cut your chicken wing.
  2. Combine marinade ingredients in a shallow bowl.
  3. Coat the chicken in the marinade. Set aside in the fridge for two hours to marinate.
  4. Heat a flat grill plate over a medium-high heat.
  5. Remove chicken from the marinade (same the left over sauce).
  6. Place on the hot grill plate, and cook for 15 minutes, turning frequently.
  7. Transfer to an oven tray, and cook at 150 degrees Celcius for 15 minutes.
  8. Meanwhile, combine the sriracha sauce ingredients and the reserved marinade in a saucepan.
  9. Bring to the boil over a medium-high heat. Allow to simmer for 2 – 3 minutes.
  10. Pour sauce over the cooked chicken wings, toss to coat thoroughly.
  11. Pile onto a serving plate, and sprinkle with sesame seeds and spring onions.
  12. Serve hot.

Twice Cooked Sriracha Chicken Wings

Author:

I thoroughly enjoy cooking. And better yet I have a partner who thoroughly enjoys me cooking so it keeps me going. However, I am impatient and lazy, and therefore have many a cooking conundrum... my blog is about the problems I face while cooking and either how I overcome them... or how I cover them up!

Let me know what you think!